Wednesday, March 28, 2012

Can it be 1980 again?

I'm eating a fruit roll up, currently.  It's been what... 30 years?  Is it even good?  No.  It's just fun.  One of those things that brings excitement to the surface..  Something that takes you back to that place.... if only for a moment.  Not the crappy part of your childhood...  but the Great part!  The part where..  eating a fruit roll up was a way of life.  And.. the thing you looked forward to most was running in the house after school, whipping off your "good" clothes... putting on your "play clothes" so you can run outside.. and stay there till your mom called you in for dinner.  Then throwing down your food so you can get right back outside again.  Till dark.  Anything to worry about?  Nah.  Anything to be concerned with?  Nah.  Except maybe that your buddy's dinner was a quick one and he was outside first, waiting for you.  Ahhh...  the good old days.  OUTSIDE.  There is nothing better to a child.  Well.. that's the way it Should be... that's the way it Was.  Yes we had video games back then, but we had sense not to play them when the sun was shining.  We avoid the outdoors when it's raining now.  Before, it was an opportunity to run thru and jump in the puddles.  And...  play in the mud afterwards!  It's a shame that we can't do that as adults.... without looking like we're insane.     

Behind me, on the way to work this morning there was this couple.  I'm going to go ahead and assume that they were on Cocaine.  I can assume this because... this is my world.  I can do whatever I want.  Haha.  [I can also do 47 cartwheels in a row...  Wanna see?]  Chic was driving.  Talking NONSTOP.  Dude was passengin'.. sniffing like a mother..  rubbing/wiping his nose.  I could just see it in his eyes that he was effed.  And this is 8 o'clock in the Morning.  ..which got me thinking...  how much cocaine would one have to buy to keep you going throughout the day.. if you start at 8 AM?  See, I have no clue because I never touched the stuff.  I'm only assuming that if you're doing it at 8AM, then you're gonna have to keep it up every like... what..  half hour?....hour?  That's a lotta drug.  You'd have to work all day, every day, just to afford your habit.  Wow.  I bet a lot of people do that.    I understand WHY people do drugs...  I just think it's unfortunate that some people take it too far.  We are such Quick-Fix creatures.  We want everything RIGHTNOW.

I'm like that at times.  Impulsive.  If I get a quick flash of a Watchamacallit in my head... I HAVE to go out and buy one the next day.  That's just ludicrous. 

I consider myself pretty lucky.  I went to this place....looking for a certain something... and I found pretty much Exactly what I was looking for.  And I'm pretty pleased. 

So my car is STILL in the shop.  Good lord, I'm going to shit bricks if I actually get that thing back.  At the moment, it's a complete mystery - like - Scooby Doo mystery - what's wrong with the thing.  We have entrusted this very talkative, very nice Greek man down the road with it.  Let's see if you can work your magic, my Mediterranean friend.  I know you can do it!   Greeks HAVE to know what they are doing.  They made frickin' Feta Cheese and Grape Leaves.  Two of the greatest creations on Earth.

..Below my #1 Top Pick of Tastiest Food of All Time to Land on my Tongue:  Chipotle's Guacamole.   

P.S.  You'll have to forgive me if I come off as unintelligent at times.  I don't know for sure if the Greeks invented feta cheese and grape leaves...  It just seems that way to me. 

No comments:

Post a Comment