It's funny how incredibly powerful the "gift" of CHOICE is. I don't know what else to call it, but a gift. If you believe in "God" or a god, it can be considered a gift from him/her/it. But.. if you Don't.. what do you call the great and powerful Choice?? All I know is that it's power is pretty amazing stuff. Example:
The Red Hot Chili Peppers. Like most musical acts, they have changed over the years. I still love them just the same. Their choices of tunage and creative forces over the years have slightly wondered off the path of my liking.. but seeing them LIVE lights a fire inside of me like Nobody's Bidness. Nothing seems to have changed when it's them on stage, doing their thing. SO......
They are coming to my home town. Tickets went on sale just 20 minutes ago. I have seen them before, but This time I want to see them CLOSE. They are one of my all time favorite bands. Why should I go sit extremely far away.. only Wishing I was closer the whole time? So of course I was online at 10:00 exactly. But... I Knew what was coming. A crock of horseshit is what was coming. "Tickets go on sale Friday at 10AM". BULLSHIT! Other companies snatch up all the good seats first... THEN the rest of the shit seats go on sale. So, the very first ticket I come across is "floor" (which excited me quite a bit), but it was in the Very back of the floor.. and.. I am not sure if I would be able to squiggle my way up front or not.. because it's not general admission. So, I'm not gonna take that chance of being stuck way in the effing back.. on the (flat) floor.. when I could try to get closer, but up on a riser. So.... I try again (maybe 5 after at this point). Section 103.. that's where I was the last time I saw them and - sure it was a HIGH-AS-A-KITE-WHILE-COMPLETELY-SOBER experience for me.. but I remember saying "Next time they come, I'm getting much better seats." So THEN... I try stubhub. What a joke. The same section 103 is now triple the price of what I just saw. So I go back to ticketmaster... and.. it's saying "tickets not available online" which triggers my panic reflex and I think "Oh fuck, they're sold out already". What another crock of shit. They are not at All sold out. There are an Assload of tickets sitting somewhere right now, just waiting to be bought.
I had a choice to make. Do I get all depressed because there's a chance I'll either get really shitty seats or I won't be going at all?? Or... do I say "Who gives an Eff" and... go on with my life.. happily skipping along? How do I want to live my life? How do YOU want to live your life? It helps when I look at "The Big Picture". The "Grand Scheme" I like to call it. Step back and look at the universe as if you were the creator of it all. Is it Really worth it??? Getting upset not to see Michael "Flea" Balzary in all his sweaty, naked glory, busting out the most badass rockin' bass guitar riffs you've ever heard?? Haha... part of me says Yes. But the other part of me is realizing there is a much smarter, calmer way of dealing with things. And it's F.R.E.E. The freedom that we all have inside of us, regardless of race, religion, social status.
Choice.
Such a simple little word with Enormous power. So yeah, I think I've come pretty freakin' far. From getting all jammed up inside, filling my body and soul with disappointment and sadness to... the hippy, tree-hugger way out of that mess: Oh well. It's.. Oh-Kay. We can do that with Everything in our lives. We just gotta learn How.
Probably Thee #1 favorite thing of mine is seeing live music. I do have a job and I do make "paper" and I think spending that paper on something you love is much more fulfilling than giving it to Duquesne Light. Haha. You are buying enjoyment. If I can sit at this desk and they can hand me green paper that I hand on over to a concert venue, and they can deliver me a live-in-the-flesh, musical treat of a group of guys that have been giving me enjoyment for oh.. 20+ years now.. YEAH. I'd say that's a fucking Deal and a Half. The question Is.. how Much green paper are you willing to spare????
[why is it Green by the way?] Here's why: It was the only pigment readily available and in huge quantities that will be able to supply the needs of the Bureau of Engraving and Printing. Also the chemicals in the color were highly resistant to the usual wear and tear, which is important so that the print on the paper will not fade out.
Okay, so this is all well and good but, I am still a student. I have learned about the beauty of choice in Some aspects of my life, while still stuggling in other areas. I will continue to work on it. Choosing to not get upset about a concert, pales in comparison to some others. Haha.. I know this. What will I do? Keep on learnin'.. and keep on truckin'.
Friday, January 27, 2012
Thursday, January 19, 2012
Extra Sensory Perception & Giants.
Ok so I was thinking about how things like jumping spiders look so cute from Afar.. but look so incredibly monstrous and creepy super duper close up. So... I wonder if that's how it is with US. If there's like this world of giants that see Us as little ant-type-things running around doing our thing.. and they're all "Aww.. look how cute they are" but when they put us under their Giant Microscope, they're all "HOLY HELL THOSE THINGS ARE HIDEOUS!" ha! ....welcome to the wacky world of k.rae. ain't it fun?
In my personal journey, I always use lowercase lettering. For some odd reason, as soon as I started this blog, I wanted to use both lower and upper. I find that odd. Cause to me, using proper puncuation and Casing is putting me on the professional train. And I don't want to be on the professional train. I like comfy. I like natural. I like simple and easy. Sweatpants and Recliners. Haha. [I REALLY needed my sweatpants and recliner last night after gorging on a ridiculously tasty gyro salad.]
HOLY SMOKES. I just checked my email. Got one from me Mum.. she was talking about upper and lower case lettering. WHOA. Some creepy ESP shit goin' down today. THEN.. just last night I was talking to someone about my father.. etc etc etc.. and this person suggested I think about my dad and my childhood right before I go to sleep cause sometimes things come to you in your dreams.. so I talked to me Mum just now.. and.. SHE had a nightmare about my dad last night. WEEEIIIIRRRDDD!!!!!!!!!!!! my father thoughts TOTALLY went into her head/soul last night w/out even speaking to her.
WOWZERS.
I had a book when I was a kid called "Jack and the Beanstalk.". All I remember about it is there was this kid Jack.. and he was climbing up a "beanstalk". Whatever That is. And there was a Giant involved somehow. I'm gonna have to look that up.
Oh Yeah!! HAHA!! Here it is....
In the Jacobs version of the story Jack is a young lad living with his widowed mother. Their only means of income is a cow. When this cow stops giving milk one morning, Jack is sent to the market to sell it. On the way to the market he meets an old man who offers to give him "magic" beans in exchange for the cow.
Jack takes the beans but when he arrives home with no money, his mother gets angry and throws the beans out the window and sends Jack to bed without supper.
As Jack sleeps, the beans grow into a gigantic beanstalk. Jack climbs the bean stalk and arrives in a land high up in the sky where he follows a road to a house, which is the home of an ogre. He enters the house and asks the ogre's wife for food. She gives him food, but the ogre returns and senses that a human is nearby:
In my personal journey, I always use lowercase lettering. For some odd reason, as soon as I started this blog, I wanted to use both lower and upper. I find that odd. Cause to me, using proper puncuation and Casing is putting me on the professional train. And I don't want to be on the professional train. I like comfy. I like natural. I like simple and easy. Sweatpants and Recliners. Haha. [I REALLY needed my sweatpants and recliner last night after gorging on a ridiculously tasty gyro salad.]
HOLY SMOKES. I just checked my email. Got one from me Mum.. she was talking about upper and lower case lettering. WHOA. Some creepy ESP shit goin' down today. THEN.. just last night I was talking to someone about my father.. etc etc etc.. and this person suggested I think about my dad and my childhood right before I go to sleep cause sometimes things come to you in your dreams.. so I talked to me Mum just now.. and.. SHE had a nightmare about my dad last night. WEEEIIIIRRRDDD!!!!!!!!!!!! my father thoughts TOTALLY went into her head/soul last night w/out even speaking to her.
WOWZERS.
I had a book when I was a kid called "Jack and the Beanstalk.". All I remember about it is there was this kid Jack.. and he was climbing up a "beanstalk". Whatever That is. And there was a Giant involved somehow. I'm gonna have to look that up.
Oh Yeah!! HAHA!! Here it is....
In the Jacobs version of the story Jack is a young lad living with his widowed mother. Their only means of income is a cow. When this cow stops giving milk one morning, Jack is sent to the market to sell it. On the way to the market he meets an old man who offers to give him "magic" beans in exchange for the cow.
Jack takes the beans but when he arrives home with no money, his mother gets angry and throws the beans out the window and sends Jack to bed without supper.
As Jack sleeps, the beans grow into a gigantic beanstalk. Jack climbs the bean stalk and arrives in a land high up in the sky where he follows a road to a house, which is the home of an ogre. He enters the house and asks the ogre's wife for food. She gives him food, but the ogre returns and senses that a human is nearby:
- Fee-fi-fo-fum!
- I smell the blood of an Englishman?
- Be he 'live, or be he dead,
- I'll grind his bones to make my bread.
Tuesday, January 17, 2012
Doilies & Shoehorns
So I have a thing for shoe horns. I do NOT have a thing for doilies. On my way to work "doilies" popped into my head. How does a DOILY pop into one's head as they're driving to work??? You Tell ME. Doilies are very old school. Something that would Never Ever be a part of my interior design. Although I have a great appreciation for them. Someone actually makes those things. It's like the human version of a spider web, although you don't get IN them.. you just.. place them gently on an end table, and put things on them. Such as a lamp.. or a framed photograph of .. Ulysses S. Grant. I don't like many "white" things. White sneakers.. BAD. White sunglasses.. BAD. White bread.. mostly bad. White shirts.. BAD. White pants.. BAAAD. Good white things: milk. bunny rabbits and cats. tigers. snowmen. Some People. but.. I would say that the majority of white people are bad. We're not really "white" tho. I"m talking WHITE WHITE. Jesus H, have I lost my mind??? Like... for REAL??
So... shoe horns. I think they are so damn cool. Old school, once again. I really should have lived way way back in the day. I miss it, and I never even experienced it. If we live past lives.. my last one was def in like.. 1600. I can almost smell the air. I don't even know when the shoe horn was invented. I just think it's a really cool little gadget. I use one to put my sneakers on w/out untying them. I didn't buy a shoe horn, although I certainly Would. It was there when we bought the house. Thanks former [bastard] tenants! That's about the only good thing they left behind. In my 36 years, I have never seen a shoe horn in a store. Back then.. they used them because they had really good quality shoes.. shoes that would last many years. Putting on shoes the way we do today would be a HUGE slap in the face to the people of yesteryear Man we like to manhandle the things we buy, don't we? There is just No Respect for Anything anymore. But, we live in a disposable society so, keeping your shoes for 20 years does not apply. So.. shoe horns go by the wayside. But.. not in MY house! HAHA! I know, they're used to help put your shoes on, most of the time so you don't have to bend over so far. But I really think they were also used to keep the quality of the shoe flowing.
...where was I going with this???
Feeling extra crazy lately. Can you tell??
I wanted to blog about doilies and shoe horns. I wanted to have a title of "Doilies & Shoehorns". Haha. And even tho I wouldn't be caught dead in, on or around a DOILY.. I appreciate them.
Oh yeah, one more thing. And I may have mentioned this before.. but since my current blogosphere is fucking WACKED.. I just wanna add this piece of hilarity to the mix.. for your (and my) enjoyment:
Someone I know said he sometimes poops outside in his yard. And this is what he said about it:
"Sometimes the crows get upset when they see me out there pooping."
I think that is THEE SINGLE BEST LINE I have ever heard in my entire life. HAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!
You R.O.C.K., Mr. Hippy Man. I love you.
So... shoe horns. I think they are so damn cool. Old school, once again. I really should have lived way way back in the day. I miss it, and I never even experienced it. If we live past lives.. my last one was def in like.. 1600. I can almost smell the air. I don't even know when the shoe horn was invented. I just think it's a really cool little gadget. I use one to put my sneakers on w/out untying them. I didn't buy a shoe horn, although I certainly Would. It was there when we bought the house. Thanks former [bastard] tenants! That's about the only good thing they left behind. In my 36 years, I have never seen a shoe horn in a store. Back then.. they used them because they had really good quality shoes.. shoes that would last many years. Putting on shoes the way we do today would be a HUGE slap in the face to the people of yesteryear Man we like to manhandle the things we buy, don't we? There is just No Respect for Anything anymore. But, we live in a disposable society so, keeping your shoes for 20 years does not apply. So.. shoe horns go by the wayside. But.. not in MY house! HAHA! I know, they're used to help put your shoes on, most of the time so you don't have to bend over so far. But I really think they were also used to keep the quality of the shoe flowing.
...where was I going with this???
Feeling extra crazy lately. Can you tell??
I wanted to blog about doilies and shoe horns. I wanted to have a title of "Doilies & Shoehorns". Haha. And even tho I wouldn't be caught dead in, on or around a DOILY.. I appreciate them.
Oh yeah, one more thing. And I may have mentioned this before.. but since my current blogosphere is fucking WACKED.. I just wanna add this piece of hilarity to the mix.. for your (and my) enjoyment:
Someone I know said he sometimes poops outside in his yard. And this is what he said about it:
"Sometimes the crows get upset when they see me out there pooping."
I think that is THEE SINGLE BEST LINE I have ever heard in my entire life. HAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!
You R.O.C.K., Mr. Hippy Man. I love you.
Saturday, January 14, 2012
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)



