Wednesday, July 30, 2014

A purple-ish, Wednesday ponder

Purple Ponder.  That's what I had to go with for my website name.  purpleponder.blogspot.com.  I say "had to" like.. I HAD TO.  It's a free site that someone mentioned.  I'm sure I could get a cooler, more personal website if I paid for it.  And really....  how much would that be anyway?  like 20 bucks a year?  I have no idea.  I really want purpleporch.com.  I feel that Purple Porch is MINE.  Like.. mine mine.  Like....  you know how your big toe is YOURS...  well... purple porch is MINE.

:)

hold on...  I"m going to go to purpleporch.com right now.

Well.. it's taken.. and it's weird.  I don't even know what it is.  purpleporch.net is taken as well.  purpleporch.org is available.. but I don't want that.  Anyway... I'm sure it's just a fleeting thought.  I have dozens of those a day.

So the word 'ponder' came to me this morning... and then reminded me of my blog name.  Well, the blog NAME is.. you know what the blog name is.  The SITE name is purple ponder.. cause some bitch took purple porch.  HAHA.  Just kidding.  I'm sure she's a fine young lady.  So anyway.... Ponder.

I saw four gentelmen this morning on my ride in to work...  3 walking... one sitting on his shut-off motorcylce - all seemingly Pondering.  The 3 that were walking were very slowly walking... not walking for exercise.. just kinda... walking.  And Pondering.  I could totally tell..  even in the 3 seconds that I looked at their face.  Lots on their minds.  Man... life is fucking TOUGH.  It's really really really hard to get through certain things.  I seriously can't even imagine having to go through tough times all by myself.  I have a [couple] handfuls of friends I can call on the telephone this very moment... and they would sincerely listen to me talk.. and cry.. and vent... and do whatever it is that I needed to do.  THAT is pretty fucking awesome.  You know what ...  even if I had ONE of those... that would be great.  You don't need 10... or 5...  One is good.  So if you've got one, sincere, true friend..  You're fucking GOLDEN.  And I'm happy for you.  Cause really......   that's all you  need.

Tons of relationships break up, daily.  Family breaks apart.  True friends?  That shit's like concrete. 

Well.. I just saw on "the internet" that human bones are 65 times stronger than concrete.  So... if that's the case...  true friends are like bones.  Haha.  

A N Y W A Y . . . .

Saw those dudes pondering and felt compelled to take a visit to the Porch.  Coincidentally..  Pearl Jam's Porch is my favorite PJ song.

One of my favorite things of all time is to chill on my mother's porch.  With her of course.  Chill.  Drink..  Ponder.  Let our minds freely flow..  discuss ridiculous and hilarious things.  ["Okay, pretend you're an alien..."]  Seriously... now that I think of it more.. it's actually my all time favorite thing to do.  It doesn't have to be HER porch but.. her porch is pretty spectacular.  She has to be there tho...  no one can ponder quite like this woman.  No one wants their mother to be gone off the Earth.. but I really do not want this woman off the Earth.  EVER.  Yes, she's my mother, but she's also thee single coolest individual I have ever met.

MAN am I really good at getting off track.

So the 3 dudes that were walking.. who knows what they were thinking.  And the other dude... he reminded me of Layne Staley.  [RIP... best vocalist EVER]  His motorbike was parked in a gas station parking lot.  He was sitting on it, sideways...  kinda stroking his beard.  Not a full blown beard.. but a chin beard.  Stroking.....  pondering.    Yeah.

I'm a ponderer.  And a wanderer.

time to proofread.



Monday, July 28, 2014

John Anthony Gillis, III - The Seventh Son

Stage AE, Pittsburgh - 7/27/14
I call Jack White a weirdo.  Weirdos are the best kind of people.  I don't know him, but I wish I did.  You can just tell he'd be a really cool guy to hang out with.

So, I can't recall how many years I've been a fan of  his.  Probably when the White Stripes first came out.  It was really cool to finally see him live.  Nothing tops that Very First Moment when one of your favorite musicians appears on stage.  The excitement you feel..  the chills... some tears.  Such a fun feeling.

It's just SO much better seeing a band Live.  Of course if the band is terrible, it's not going to be better live.  But to me, it's a much, much better experience than listening to one of their pre-recorded songs on the radio or cd or whatever.  Especially with a show like Jack White's.  It's so.. RAW.  I absolutely LOVE that Raw quality to rock and roll.  Just... Jamming out..  letting your energy flow... and letting your soul spill out on that stage, for thousands of strangers to witness.  It's a beautiful experience.  One that I am most grateful to be a part of.

Not quite, but the humans almost ruin the whole experience for me.  I try my best not to let it bother me... but there's one thing that goes on at Every concert I attend that absolutely drives me insane.

Talking.. the Whole. Fucking. Show.

Seriously people?  Why the fuck are you at a concert?  Why did you shell out a large amount of cash  to loudly bullshit with your friends and ignore the band?  Are all the bars in the world suddenly out of business?  I wasn't aware.  I know there's not a "no talking" policy in place at concerts, and I'm not saying I never talk to my concert buddy.. I'm talking the people who do 95% talking and 5% taking in the musical experience.

I know... it's none of my business what They do.  I don't care if they are missing out on the experience... they may not even like the band... and are just there to socialize.  But ... if I could learn to completely tune them out... that'd be great.  Just ear-plug out the crowd.  I'm trying to take in this amazing, raw, real, live experience.. and I hear these loud ass drunks talking about shit COMPLETELY unrelated to the show.

I swear to you.. I heard this dude behind me say to this other dude.. "So, I hear you're a doctor."

..............................................Really?

Save it for the break, man.  The end of the show...  your bathroom trip.

It's just like the movie theater.  SHUT. THE. FUCK. UP.

Stay in your living room or your basement and watch the movie on your big screen if you want to talk thru the whole thing.  If you need to say something to your person - at that moment- go ahead and say it...  softly... and in their ear...  not loud and not constant.

Michael (W), you may think I have some anger issues.... and yeah.. I need to move to the south. Maybe I CAN use a good dose of calm, slow, easy living.  I'm too high-strung. I know this. I get impatient on the road.. and in public places.  I just want people to be courteous.

I know I live in a fantasty world... and I want to create a world of my own, with all of MY people in it.  Just last night I was envisioning being able to rent out the whole concert venue... and have only my people there.  That would be AWESOME.

All in all..... besides the irritating humans...  it was a really good show.  The drummer was KILLER.  I love how he was right up front... off to the side.. and Jack was interacting with him, almost the whole time.  They were feeding off of each other.  I love that his guitar had a CORD.  Gotta love the Old School.

They had called for storms.. and even a possible tornado.  It was a nice night.  It started pouring during the very last song.  We were quite lucky.  It was nice... it was like going out with a bang.  Even my conservative husband said of the rain "NOW it's a rock n roll show."