How unintelligent must one be to bring their elderly mother to a Scorsese film??? And then be surprised when you see shit like that. Sigh... moan in protest.. actually COVER YOUR EYES???? Really????
See.. this is when I wish I had more of... my drunk and crazy dad in me. I wish I would have said something to her. Maybe I shouldn't have. But I wanted to. What I wanted to say was... Uh... I think you chose the wrong movie, my friend.
I enjoyed the movie but I have to say....let's call her Deborah.... that Deborah somewhat ruined my R-rated movie going experience. As an adult, creeping towards 40 years of age.. I think I should be able to freely go into an R-rated movie with an open mind.. free and willing to accept any "dirty words" or that God awful NUDITY.... Nudity that destroys lives and childhoods. Naked boobs. Yep.. Can't think of anything worse for my child to be exposed to.
Let's face it... Deborah was fine with the boobs and the blow. She was just thrown into instant shame because her mother was next to her. She gasped and made comments and shook her head. Why oh WHY Deborah.. would you take your 70 year old mother into an R-rated, Martin Scorsese movie without looking into it first???? I mean... not even a little bit? All you had to do was read one review.
So because of your awful decision-making skills.. you over-peppered my cinematic experience with your puritanism. Thanks a lot. I paid $8.50 to mentally fight off the Puritan to my right.. for 3 hours.
It gets better.
During most scenes... especially the extra graphic ones... she talked to her mother. I would say about 20 different times, she leaned over and said things to her mother and got a response..making it a CONVERSATION.... in a MOVIE THEATER. That's like bringing a BABY into a BAR. Freakin' movie theater etiquette 101. Shut the fuck up once that movie starts. If you must say something... you whisper it.. and you make it quick. You do NOT say everything that comes to your mind. [she was directly beside me by the way] You also do not talk during the scenes that make you uncomfortable because you're watching cocaine being snorted off boobs in front of the woman that birthed you. YOUR BAD DECISION. You deal with the consequences and let the other adults around you enjoy themselves.
And here's the best part.
After talking the whole freakin' movie.... about 2 hours in.. I open my popcorn bag back up for a snacky-poo. This chic has the AUDACITY to look over at me... and stay there for a good 3 seconds before I looked over at her. She had this stupid, fake grin on her face... I remained straight-faced and looked back to the screen. You SERIOUSLY have got to be kidding me. You're going to talk through the WHOLE movie....and ew and aww and make stupid comments but... that's perfectly okay.... but I open a paper bag of popcorn and fuckin forget it! How rude!!!!!!!!!!!
I will admit.... since I had about 2 hours of slight anger and irritation under my belt... I did rummage through the bag longer than I needed to. I was being an asshole, no doubt. But really.. it was nothing compared to the shit she pulled for 3 straight hours.
Thank you Deborah. You suck.
