Wednesday, April 24, 2013

Popcorn Allergies

2010
It's going to be rough sitting in this office chair all day today.  At 3:15 AM I woke up...  initially because of my allergies.  I don't usually wake up before the alarm.  I didn't really have to pee, but I peed anyway.  Blew my nose.  Took a drink of water.  Went back to bed.  And... that thing happened.  That HORRIBLE thing.  Thoughts upon thoughts RACE thru your head at dizzying speeds.  No matter how hard you try to relax... and doze off again..  It just doesn't work.  You attempt a few different positions.. hoping that one of them will whisk you off to that cottony resting place you call sleep.  .....You wait.  And wait.   ..Nope.  Not this time.

If I had insomnia issues most of the time...  No way I could handle it.  I would sadly become a drug addict.  I consider myself EXTREMELY LUCKY because 99% of the time I sleep like a Madman.  Fall asleep instantly...  never waking once until the alarm blares.  The more I talk to people, the more rare I realize this is.  So yeah, I'm really lucky, and I can handle the occasional insomnia.  So I'm not "complaining".. just "venting".        ...Is there a difference??

So here we are.  Unrested.  Sitting.... Sitting.  Congested.  Sneezing.  Allergies are ...  very annoying.  I know that somewhere.. right now.. someone is suffering from Much Much larger issues than myself.  I need to Shut It.

For whatever reason, I've been opposed to trying allergy medicine.  I didn't want to believe the woman [that stuck me like 30 times in the arm] when she said "They're going to get worse".  I thought.... How dare you take that negative tone with me.  Haha.  Well..... she was right.   They're kind of off-the-charts now.  But.. I'll be okay if I avoid:

wheat
cats
trees
pollen
grass
pizza
pasta
bread
beer
dogs
driving with my window down when it's nice out - which i LOVE
mold
dust
and sauce.

Or.. I can just go buy some medicine and not worry about it.

So......  I put a non-microwavable plate in the microwave yesterday.  A part of me didn't believe that it was truly non-microwavable.  Well...  I cooked a bag of [97% fat free] popcorn on it.  I heard some strange noises.... for some reason that part of my brain was shut down... normally those sounds would have sent up a red flag immediately.  I just let it go..... let it go..... let it go....  like 2 and a half minutes later.. I finally open the microwave.  It's total chaos.  The plate...... not only is it non-microwavable... it is.. brown... burned.... the red floral design had actually jumped Off the plate... and... there was an Actual HOLE in the middle of the plate.   WOW!!!  A science experiment indeed!  My nose started to burn as soon as I opened the microwave.  NOT GOOD.  I ventilated the place immediately.  Lesson learned.

You see... when it comes to microwaving popcorn... I just don't know what to do!  I have tried placing the bag on the actual glass rotater... broke it.... on a ceramic plate.... broke it.... on a paper plate.... burned it to shit.  And now a plastic plate.  Catastrophic outcome.  I guess I'm going to have to splurge on those plates specifically designed for the microwave.    .. I walked by them the other day too.  "Who needs those?"