So I'm driving to work this morning. Middle-aged man sitting on the sidewalk in his motorized wheelchair, holding a sign that says "SMILE"... waving to all the people driving by, most of them off to work in a hurry. Yeah yeah... I know that was one huge run-on sentence but guess what? This is my blog and I can be grammatically incorrect in the land of blog if I so choose. Haha. You'll all still love me. No doubt I'll be using the "word" funner at some point as well. NO reason that shouldn't be a word. There are no rules here. And to prove that point, I'm gonna go ahead and say rulz instead. ;)
ANYWAY.... freakin A.D.D. I totally need medication. So this guy is sitting there. He's laid back in his trusty chair..all chubby and happy to be Alive. HE is in a wheelchair and he's telling Us to be happy. WOW. Fuckin Wow. Did I mention he was waving? I will never be able to find out for sure, but I would bet a million bucks, if I had it, that 99% of the passers-by did not wave to this guy. They're too preoccupied with their commute and even... slightly embarrassed to wave at this fella. You better believe I waved at him.
*sigh* We are so pathetic. There are mos def a few peeps out there that are exceptional humans... but for the most part... we are Pathetic. We are So quick to complain about Sooo many things. My food's not hot enough... my knee hurts... this is taking too long... my hair is annoying... this traffic Sucks!!! Yes, I am absolutely one of those people who complain on a daily basis. But then I see this guy and I want someone to bitch slap me. Hard. HE is bound to a wheelchair For Life. And HE is out there... obviously Happy for what he Does have... wanting people to realize... be freakin happy for what you have... which is a Lot more than you think.
Simply sitting up in your bed, standing, walking to the bathroom for your morning pee, is a Huge thing to be thankful for. Chasing your little cousin in the yard. Blinking/Swallowing/Holding our pee! [stuff we totally take for granted] Seeing a rainbow. Hearing music.. laughter. One of my favorites... Smelling. Fresh cut grass. Freshly baked apple pie. Clothes right out of the dryer. Coffee Grounds. We call it Rain, but it's the rain droplets hitting the soil and grass and other things that we're smelling. It just smells so Fresh.. so... RIGHT.
All right... I know I'm maybe losing some of you on a Monday morning. Haha. Mondays are usually shitty. I just feel good today. Especially after seeing Bob. I'm just gonna go ahead and call him Bob. I'd actually like to take an extra 15 minutes tomorrow and stop and talk to the guy... if he's there. I'd really like to hear what he has to say. No Doubt he could make me a better person in 15 minutes. God bless that guy. If there is a God that is capable of blessing someone... please do. But I don't even think that guy needs blessed. He's GOOD to go. We are the ones that need some help. Like the lady behind me today on the road... eating yogurt [or whatever] behind the wheel.. and yes.. with a Spoon. um... we only have 2 hands. That lady needs looked after. Thank you Bob. Thank you for making me realize how much beauty is in the world. You're Terrific.
Monday, August 30, 2010
Friday, August 20, 2010
Wednesday, August 18, 2010
The Half-Assed Betty Crocker
I attempted to make bruschetta last night. I think that's how you spell it. Never talk on the phone while something is in the oven on BROIL. It's the first time I used that feature on my oven. You have NO IDEA how angry I was when I pulled This out of oven:
After lots of bitching and scraping, it somehow turned into this:
I don't really feel like I'm cut out to be the homemaker/cooking type. But I do try. I know I'm hard on myself. I just need to pay closer attention. I could use some medication, if it wasn't for those pesky side effects. I also made a homemade pizza. Well, I must give credit where credit is due. The mother-in-law made the shell. And that's Turkey pepperoni by the way:
Have a good Wednesday ya'll. Perhaps consider sitting on the purple porch tonight. I know I'd like to.
After lots of bitching and scraping, it somehow turned into this:
I don't really feel like I'm cut out to be the homemaker/cooking type. But I do try. I know I'm hard on myself. I just need to pay closer attention. I could use some medication, if it wasn't for those pesky side effects. I also made a homemade pizza. Well, I must give credit where credit is due. The mother-in-law made the shell. And that's Turkey pepperoni by the way:
Have a good Wednesday ya'll. Perhaps consider sitting on the purple porch tonight. I know I'd like to.
Tuesday, August 17, 2010
A Weekend in August
So I figured out how to copy and paste on here. Haha. DUH. Just a minor glitch. Here is the nursery rhyme I was speaking of the other day. Brings back So many wonderful memories as a kid... on the bus.
"miss suzie had a steamboat, the steamboat had a bell, miss suzie went to heaven, the steamboat went to hello operator, give me number nine, and if you disconnect me i'll chop off your behind the refrigerator, there sat a piece of glass, miss suzie sat upon it and broke her little, ask me no more questions, tell me no more lies, the boys are in the bathroom, zipping up their flies are the city, the bees are in the park, the boys and girls are kissing in the d-a-r-k dark. miss suzie had a son, she named him tiny tim, she put him in the bathtub, to see if he could swim, he drank up all the water, he ate up all the soap, he tried to eat the bathtub, but it wouldn't fit down his throat. so... miss...suzie called the doctor, miss suzie called the nurse, miss suzie called the lady with the alligator purse. in comes the doctor, in comes the nurse, in comes the lady with the alligator purse, out goes the doctor, out goes the nurse, out goes the lady with the alligator purse!"
I seriously would love to meet the person who wrote that juicy bit of fun.
So, my weekend was NutZ. Friday we had a wedding in the city. It was really cool but it was Really Hot. The ceremony was at 2:00 at the Heinz Chapel in Oakland. MAN is that place amazing. I used to not appreciate old things and antiques, but now Love Them! I'm a true believer in .. if something is OLD it's Good. Like refrigerators. Yeah.. I think my mother-in-law's has been there since like 1958. Not sure what happend to humans and taking pride in things, but getting back to my point.. Heinz Chapel. I'm sure you all have heard of it. If you want to know more about this amazing piece of architecture, check it out: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Heinz_Memorial_Chapel. I took the photo above by the way.
The wedding was beautiful. We had a lot of time to kill before the reception at the Phipps Conservatory at 6:00 but I think the heat and the dress clothes kind of made our brains move in slow motion, so we ended up at Primanti's then the Cathedral of Learning. Another AMAZING building. [Or as my girl would call it "The Cathedral of O'Lay] Then the Phipps. Lots of neato growth in that place. The reception was beautiful and the bride stunning. The food was Amazing. My favorite thing there was the guacamole. WOW.
Saturday morning started the construction of our new retaining wall. Perfect day to build a wall. 90 degrees and High humidity. My cousin did it, so we helped him. THAT was fun. Then off to an acoustic gig, which was supposed to be on the patio, but Mother Nature decided to throw us a friggin' Monsoon. BUMMER. The Last show was rained out!! So they ended up upstairs, and it all worked out.
Next morning RC was involved in an Italian Festival mass and parade. At least it wasn't as humid as the day before. Then dinner at his mother's where we had delicious homemade food and I made the grand decision to have TWO pieces of strawberry pie. YEAH.
And if that wasn't enough, we then had to go to the evening festival. I had a large bout of irritibility over the weekend, but this festival made it SO much worse for some reason. I really don't know what's happening to me... maybe I'm turning into a bitter old hag but.. kids and teens and cars everywhere was really pissing me off! haha. Thankfully, we just needed to grab a book, watched the fireworks and we were OUT of there. I'm sorry I missed the doll dances tho. I heard there was a mishap. Those crazy ass Italians.
"miss suzie had a steamboat, the steamboat had a bell, miss suzie went to heaven, the steamboat went to hello operator, give me number nine, and if you disconnect me i'll chop off your behind the refrigerator, there sat a piece of glass, miss suzie sat upon it and broke her little, ask me no more questions, tell me no more lies, the boys are in the bathroom, zipping up their flies are the city, the bees are in the park, the boys and girls are kissing in the d-a-r-k dark. miss suzie had a son, she named him tiny tim, she put him in the bathtub, to see if he could swim, he drank up all the water, he ate up all the soap, he tried to eat the bathtub, but it wouldn't fit down his throat. so... miss...suzie called the doctor, miss suzie called the nurse, miss suzie called the lady with the alligator purse. in comes the doctor, in comes the nurse, in comes the lady with the alligator purse, out goes the doctor, out goes the nurse, out goes the lady with the alligator purse!"
I seriously would love to meet the person who wrote that juicy bit of fun.
So, my weekend was NutZ. Friday we had a wedding in the city. It was really cool but it was Really Hot. The ceremony was at 2:00 at the Heinz Chapel in Oakland. MAN is that place amazing. I used to not appreciate old things and antiques, but now Love Them! I'm a true believer in .. if something is OLD it's Good. Like refrigerators. Yeah.. I think my mother-in-law's has been there since like 1958. Not sure what happend to humans and taking pride in things, but getting back to my point.. Heinz Chapel. I'm sure you all have heard of it. If you want to know more about this amazing piece of architecture, check it out: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Heinz_Memorial_Chapel. I took the photo above by the way.
The wedding was beautiful. We had a lot of time to kill before the reception at the Phipps Conservatory at 6:00 but I think the heat and the dress clothes kind of made our brains move in slow motion, so we ended up at Primanti's then the Cathedral of Learning. Another AMAZING building. [Or as my girl would call it "The Cathedral of O'Lay] Then the Phipps. Lots of neato growth in that place. The reception was beautiful and the bride stunning. The food was Amazing. My favorite thing there was the guacamole. WOW.
Saturday morning started the construction of our new retaining wall. Perfect day to build a wall. 90 degrees and High humidity. My cousin did it, so we helped him. THAT was fun. Then off to an acoustic gig, which was supposed to be on the patio, but Mother Nature decided to throw us a friggin' Monsoon. BUMMER. The Last show was rained out!! So they ended up upstairs, and it all worked out.
Next morning RC was involved in an Italian Festival mass and parade. At least it wasn't as humid as the day before. Then dinner at his mother's where we had delicious homemade food and I made the grand decision to have TWO pieces of strawberry pie. YEAH.
And if that wasn't enough, we then had to go to the evening festival. I had a large bout of irritibility over the weekend, but this festival made it SO much worse for some reason. I really don't know what's happening to me... maybe I'm turning into a bitter old hag but.. kids and teens and cars everywhere was really pissing me off! haha. Thankfully, we just needed to grab a book, watched the fireworks and we were OUT of there. I'm sorry I missed the doll dances tho. I heard there was a mishap. Those crazy ass Italians.
Last night I had a dream that someone broke into our house. They took Everything. It was Awful. They even broke into our safe where my wedding ring was. [it's not really there] What's funny is ... I felt it was my fault because I was in the bar from 7:30 PM to 7:30 AM. HAHA. Must have been having a rootin' tootin' good time!
Thursday, August 12, 2010
An explanation... not that one is needed.
So... "Purple Porch". For years now, those two words have captured my interest. I wasn't sure what to Do with them, but I know I liked them. My mother started a candle-making business. I suggested she name her company Purple Porch. She is open-minded enough to have considered it, but she went with Mystic Moon Scents instead. Still quite lovely. So now, I have a chance to use it... to give it a Home. The purple porch can be the place you go when you want to hear my thoughts. Or Your thoughts. To me, purple is more of a state-of-mind. It's a Feeling.. a "zone". The zone you get in when you want to talk with a friend for hours about things like... why the moon appears to be a perfect circle or... the fact that you will Never see your own face with your own eyeballs. And, some of the best conversations I've had have been on.. someone's Porch. I'm All About the porch. Throw a few beers into the mix, you've got yourself a grand ol' time. So, purple porch is more like a mental playground, but I wouldn't mind having an actual purple porch. I do love the color. They say it's the color of spirituality. I say, sounds good to me.
Wednesday, August 11, 2010
The Wednesday Blues
So it's Wednesday and I'm feeling a bit sluggish. Why? Perhaps Oberon had something to do with it. Quite the tasty beverage, but I'm a light beer girl now. Bryan Fazio and friends were great last night. You gotta love how INTO IT some musicians get. When they just REALLY FEEL it. Best thing ever. Bryan is an inspiration. He has such a bright & happy soul. I'm happy I met him.
On a daily basis there are things that go on that make me feel frustration. And lots of it. I already know how humans these days operate, and you would think I wouldn't let things bother me. Ever utter the words, "but I just can't Help it!!"? Yeah, you have. Kohl's. They do it best. All I want to do is purchase my ... shirt... piece of jewelry...etc. and be on my way. Here it comes. "Will this be on your Kohl's charge?" "No." "Are you interested in opening a Kohl's charge? You can save 10%!" "No." Why does this small exchange make me want to rip out my hair??
So I bought some new shoes. I think they're Very cool and very "me". But... they're "farting" when I walk. Yep... my heels are sliding down the back of the shoe and a high-pitched farting noise comes out.. pretty loudly. Quite embarassing and even more irritating. I'm thinking I just need some thicker socks. Hopefully that will solve the problem.
I really miss my highly twisted dreams. They were so entertaining. Last night I had one about an elevator. I would call it a reoccuring dream. It's always this crazy elevator.. that's Really large and there are always strangers in it. No one else seems to be frightened by this thing. Now, all ideas you may have of a modern day elevator should leave your heads now. This thing is a full blown Dream elevator. It's Huge, it's Puffy, it moves at all different speeds and all different directions. It's evil. I need to get on this thing for some reason, but it's craziness is making it very difficult to do so. Finally the doors open... but it doesn't stand still. It's wobbling up and down a bit... and I have to try my damndest to jump into this thing. *sigh* I'm exhausted just thinking about it. Once on, there are hundreds of buttons/floors/numbers. I don't know What the H is going on. I usually end up in a parking garage or this huge building/hospital/airport type thing. It's just nuts I tell you. Nuts. I often dream of stairs and stair cases. And airports. Being On the plane, but it's always a Very different experience than what really goes on. I hope to have more interesting dreams to keep yinz posted on here. I wonder if there is a certain food I can eat to make my dreamworld come alive.
So I was looking back at some old blogs I posted a few years back. This really stood out. This is a "nursery rhyme" if you will I learned on the school bus. If you've never heard it, it's not gonna do a thing for you, if you Have, then Enjoy. ;)
Okay, so nevermind. This thing is not letting me copy and paste. I'm still new here. Perhaps I'll figure it out another day.
Friday, August 6, 2010
For the love of Blog
It's been a while since I wrote an official "blog". That's what I liked most about MySpace. Myspace has proven to be a pile of garbage. Now, those interested in my thoughts can come here. Welcome. =)
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)







